Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

2019 U.S. Hillman Prizes

Prizes to USA Journalists for Excellence in Investigative
Storytelling and Commentary

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Sidney Hillman Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Prizes of $5,000 to USA journalists to recognize outstanding commentary or investigative journalism that serve the common good. Prize winners should exemplify extraordinary storytelling skill, reportorial excellence, and social justice impact. The contest is open to journalists and subjects globally, although work must have been intended for and be widely accessible to a U.S. audience.

Prizes will be presented in the following categories:

1. Book Journalism (bound volumes and ebooks)

2. Newspaper Journalism (story or series/in print or online)

3. Magazine Journalism (story or series/in print or online

4. Broadcast Journalism (story/series/documentary at least 20 minutes in total package length that has aired on television or radio)

5. Web Journalism (story/series that did not appear in print): Open to blogs, photojournalism, and other multimedia projects as well as text. Entries must have been published online for a U.S audience in 2018

6. Opinion & Analysis Journalism (any medium): Includes all types of advocacy, opinion, commentary and analysis, normally short-form and/or frequent, regardless of medium. Open to newspaper and magazine columnists, TV and radio presenters, podcasters, blogs, and bloggers.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177619

Number of Grants:

One prize will be made in each of six categories.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Winners are awarded travel to New York City to receive a $5,000 prize and a certificate.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The contest is open to journalists and subjects globally, although work must have been intended for and be widely accessible to a U.S. audience.

Self-published books are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

There is no fee to enter. There is no limit to the number of entries one outlet or publication may enter.

You may nominate your own work or someone else’s.

The Call for Entries for the 2019 Hillman Prizes is now open. The deadline is January 30, 2019.

Winners will be announced in April 2019.

Prizes will be presented at the award ceremony to be held Tuesday, May 7, 2019 in New York City.

Previous winners:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit Nominations Online:

Alexandra Lescaze

The Sidney Hillman Foundation
330 West 42nd Street, Suite 900
New York, NY 10036

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming