GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Heineken Prizes 2020

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Scholars for
Outstanding Achievements in the Sciences

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences and Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation

Deadline Date:

10/15/19 11.59 PM CET


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA, Canada, and International scholars and scientists for outstanding achievements in the fields of history, medicine, environmental sciences, biochemistry and biophysics, and cognitive science. Awards will recognize significant breakthroughs and innovations, and visionary work influencing the development of each discipline.

There are 5 Science awards:

- The Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics supports research excellence in biochemistry and biophysics.

- The C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Prize for Cognitive Science is awarded to a distinguished researcher in cognitive science. The prize highlights the importance of investigating the cognitive functions of humans and animals.

- The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences supports research excellence in the environmental sciences.

- The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for History supports research excellence in the field of history.

- The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine recognizes pioneering work in medicine and is awarded to a researcher whose achievements have led or are expected to lead to an important application in medical practice.

For more details on the fields of achievements, see:
Biochemistry and Biophysics:
Cognitive Science:
Environmental Sciences:

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 162011

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The international Heineken Prizes are worth $200,000 each.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The awards are intended explicitly for scientists and scholars who are currently active in their field and whose research still holds considerable promise for future innovative discoveries. International juries will select the winners.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for submitting the nomination form is 15 October 2019 at 11.59 PM CET. The awards ceremony will take place on 1 October 2020.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nominations should be sent to:

Questions can be addressed by email or by telephone:
Telephone: +31 20 551 0763/0702

Visiting address
Het Trippenhuis
Kloveniersburgwal 29
NL-1011 JV Amsterdam

Postal address
PO Box 19121
NL-1000 GC Amsterdam
The Netherlands

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.